Principality of Antarcticland

Fabian Gottlieb

Antarcticland is the oldest territorial domain in Antarctica, founded in 1821 by Fabian Gottlieb von Bellingshausen. It includes lands and islands with an area of 1,554,424 km2, equivalent to Portugal, Spain, France, Italy and Switzerland combined.

The history of Antarctica has two key dates: 1821, when Fabian Gottlieb von Bellingshausen founded the state to defend the Antarctic continent, and 2007, when H.A. Giovanni Caporaso Gottlieb has been appointed by his predecessor H.A. Hans Gottlieb, 42nd Grand Master of the Sovereign Order of the Ice Knights and Regent of the Territory.

Antarctica is currently ruled by a triumvirate of Regents:
1) H.R.H. Cesare Sebastiano Francesco Giuseppe of the ancient Norman De Fuxo family, H.H. Prince of Antarcticland, Thurston, New Malta and King, H.E.H. Grand Master of the Sovereign Order of Saint John of Jerusalem – World Confederation (SOSJJ), and 44th H.H. Grand Master of the Knights of Ice.

2) H.H. Giovanni Caporaso Gottlieb, Prince of West Antarctica, Regent Emeritus of Antarcticland, and 43rd H.H.Grand Master of the Knights of Ice.

 3) H.E. Salvatore Brinch, Acting Regent and Governor of the Principality of King since June 2019.

Principality of Antarcticland